Event Registration - American Recorder Society

FREE Online Recorder Class for Beginners - Learn to Play Soprano/Tenor Recorder with Teresa Deskur
6/11/2024 - 6/20/2024
8:00 PM - 9:00 PM EST


Location: Zoom online platform - a sign-in link will be sent to registrants


There are currently 1 spots remaining out of 43




Event Description
ARS introduces a Free Online Beginners’ Course for soprano & tenor recorder, taught by Teresa Deskur! The recorder is a fantastic instrument for people who want the social experience of playing with others, wish to play a variety of repertoire, and can learn to do so at a basic level in a relatively short time. Whether you’ve never played recorder before, or if it has been eons ago since you have played, can or cannot read music, this is the course for you! 

This course will use the following method book which provides excellent methodical exercises to learn fingerings, while providing simple tunes to satisfy the soul!
The Sweet Pipes Recorder Book: A method for adults and older beginners by Gerald Burakoff and William E. Hettrick. Soprano, Book One. 

Dates:
Tuesday, June 11, 8 p.m. EDT (7 p.m. CDT, 6 p.m. MDT, 5 p.m. PDT)
Thursday, June 13, 8 p.m. EDT (7 p.m. CDT, 6 p.m. MDT, 5 p.m. PDT)
Tuesday, June 18 8 p.m. EDT (7 p.m. CDT, 6 p.m. MDT, 5 p.m. PDT)
Thursday, June 20, 8 p.m. EDT (7 p.m. CDT, 6 p.m. MDT, 5 p.m. PDT)
Each session will comprise ~35 minutes of instructional time, followed by ~10 minutes for questions

Students will need to purchase a copy of the "Sweet Pipes" Recorder book (links below) for the class.

Do you need to purchase an instrument? You cannot go wrong with a good plastic recorder—they can actually sound better than a poor wooden one! Yamaha and Aulos make very good plastic sopranos. For tenors: Yamaha provides an exceptional tone, while Aulos is lighter-weight with a smaller reach. Consider purchasing an instrument from one of our business partners:

Von Huene Workshop (The Early Music Shop of New England), Boston, MA: (617) 277-8690
Honeysuckle Music, St. Paul, MN: (651) 644-8545
Lazar's Early Music, Carson City, NV: (866) 511-2981
Recorderforge.com, Happy Valley, OR: (503) 210-1643

The Von Huene Workshop & Honeysuckle Music also offer the Sweet Pipes Recorder book.