Event Registration - American Recorder Society

Second Level Beginners' Class with Larry Lipnik: A Renaissance Consort Primer (any recorder)
5/11/2021 - 5/20/2021

Second Level Beginners' Class with Larry Lipnik: A Renaissance Consort Primer (any recorder)

Explore Renaissance music from the golden age of the recorder consort, much of it inspired by vocal music and dance, while learning about articulation and shaping of phrases in an historical context.  These basic concepts and techniques can be applied to much music from this period, and will enrich your ensemble experience, whether with live groups or play-along recordings.
 
Students should be comfortable with most of the notes on at least one size of recorder, though it doesn’t matter which one, including common accidentals.  Music will be provided about a week in advance, and you will be muted for most of the class for a low-stress experience.

 
This four-session class is available at no charge to ARS members, only. When registering, use the email address associated with your ARS membership. If you are not an ARS member, you may click HERE to join.  There will be approximately 10 "Second Level" classes on a variety of topics offered from January through May, 2021. Teachers are paid thanks to donations to the Recorder Artist Relief Fund.  ARS members are asked to please sign up for no more than two of these classes, in order to allow a larger number of people to take advantage of these opportunities.

Requirements: 
Any recorder, and the ability to play most notes, including common accidentals


Dates:
Tuesday, May 11, 4 pm EDT (3 pm CDT, 2 pm MDT, 1 pm PDT) 
Thursday, May 13, 4 pm EDT (3 pm CDT, 2 pm MDT, 1 pm PDT)
Tuesday, May 18, 4 pm EDT (3 pm CDT, 2 pm MDT, 1 pm PDT)
Thursday, May 20, 4 pm EDT (3 pm CDT, 2 pm MDT, 1 pm PDT)


 
Location: Zoom online platform - a sign-in link will be sent to registrants


There are currently 8 spots remaining out of 43