Event Registration - American Recorder Society

FREE Online Recorder Class for Beginners with Jennifer Streeter
2/3/2021 - 2/13/2021

ARS introduces our next Free Online Beginners' Course! If you have never played recorder before, or if it has been eons ago since you have played, this is the course for you! Build a solid foundation for learning recorder through this 4-part beginners’ course for alto (treble) recorder starting on January 12, 2021. Professional recorder player and teacher Jennifer Streeter will introduce you to the building blocks of good recorder technique, including airflow, articulation, body position, and finger coordination. All materials will be provided except for the recorder. 
 
Dates (note the different times for Wednesdays and Saturdays):
Wednesday, Feb. 3, 7 pm EST (6 pm CST, 5 pm MST, 4 pm PST)
Saturday, Feb. 6, 3 pm EST (2 pm CST, 1 pm MST, 12 noon PST)
Wednesday, Feb. 10, 7 pm EST (6 pm CST, 5 pm MST, 4 pm PST)
Saturday, Feb. 13, 3 pm EST (2 pm CST, 1 pm MST, 12 noon PST)


Do you need to purchase an alto recorder? You cannot go wrong with a good plastic recorder. Yamaha, Aulos, and Zen-On all make good plastic recorders. Consider purchasing an instrument from one of our business partners:
 
Von Huene Workshop (The Early Music Shop of New England), Boston, MA: (617) 277-8690
Honeysuckle Music, St. Paul, MN: (651) 644-8545
Lazar's Early Music, Social Circle, GA: (770) 366-8596
 
Yamaha “Rottenburgh” plastic alto: https://www.vonhuene.com/p-115-yamaha-rottenburgh-plastic-alto.aspx or https://lazarsearlymusic.com/collections/recorders/products/yamaha-abs-resin-recorder-alto?variant=29092748591186

Aulos “Haka” plastic alto: https://www.vonhuene.com/p-126-aulos-plastic-haka-alto.aspx

Zen-On "Bressan" plastic alto: https://www.vonhuene.com/p-6331-zen-on-g1-a-440-bressan-alto-recorder.aspx

 
Location: Zoom online platform - a sign-in link will be sent to registrants