Event Registration - American Recorder Society

Second Level Beginners' Class with Lisette Kielson (soprano/tenor recorder)
2/27/2021 - 3/20/2021

If you’ve taken one of ARS Online Beginners’ Courses for the soprano or tenor recorder, then you are ready for Level 2! If you didn’t master everything the first time around there will be plenty of review! In this second-level 4-part course, professional recorder player and teacher Lisette Kielson will guide you in continued work on recorder technique and musical expression, solidifying varying time signatures and rhythmic patterns, getting a good (relaxed!) grip on notes and fingerings, and continuing the quest for beautiful tone and articulation.

This class is available at no charge to ARS members, only. When registering, use the email address associated with your ARS membership. If you are not an ARS member, you may click HERE to join.  There will be approximately 10 "Second Level" classes on a variety of topics offered from January through May, 2021. Teachers are paid thanks to donations to the Recorder Artist Relief Fund.  These classes are limited in size to allow for interaction between the teacher and students. ARS members are asked to please sign up for no more than two of these classes, in order to allow a larger number of people to take advantage of these opportunities. Classes may be recorded and made available at a future date.

Required: Soprano or tenor recorder, basic music-reading facility

This course will use the following method book:
Sweet Pipes Recorder Book: A method for adults and older beginners, Book One for Soprano/Tenor  (see purchase info below)
(It is recommended that you are comfortable with and can play through Unit 7)
Any supplementary material will be provided by the instructor.

Dates:
Saturday, February 27, 12 p.m. CST (1 p.m. EST, 11 a.m. MST, 10 a.m. PST)
Saturday, March 6, 12 p.m. CST (1 p.m. EST, 11 a.m. MST, 10 a.m. PST)
Saturday, March 13, 12 p.m. CST (1 p.m. EST, 11 a.m. MST, 10 a.m. PST)
Saturday, March 20, 12 p.m. CDT (1 p.m. EDT, 11 a.m. MDT, 10 a.m. PDT)

For this course, you will need the Sweet Pipes Recorder Book. Consider purchasing this from one of our business partners, and please allow ample time for mail delivery! If you have purchased the Sweet Pipes Recorder book online but are concerned that you may not receive it in time for your first class, we can provide you with a "temporary" copy for download. Instructions will be in your emailed registration confirmation notice.

Von Huene Workshop (The Early Music Shop of New England), Boston, MA: (617) 277-8690
      Sweet Pipes Recorder Book 1 Soprano

Honeysuckle Music, St. Paul, MN: (651) 644-8545
      Sweet Pipes Recorder Book 1 Soprano


 
Location: Zoom online platform - a sign-in link will be sent to registrants



The attendee limit has been reached for this event.