Composition - - American Recorder Society
Fugue on a Theme by Borodin
By Bradford Wright December 2020
This relatively long fugue is based on a theme from the "Notturno" movement in Alexander Borodin's 2nd string quartet. The subject is long and slow with lots of opportunity for expression. A developing countersubject involving afterbeat rhythms keeps the piece moving forward. The notes are easy to play, but it will require careful attention to one's own rhythm to play the piece successfully.
-- Bradford Wright
This original work for ATBB recorders is a fugue on a subject culled from the most recognizable motive of a well-known classical Russian string quartet, the second of only two by Aleksandr Borodin (1833-1887). The music is not particularly difficult technically, and is accessible to intermediate players. The countersubject is an offbeat rhythmic pattern, that may take a couple runs to develop security with, but the note ranges are easy and the music moves slowly. Familiarity with the original string quartet movement will help players further appreciate the compositional techniques employed, as well as the fugal treatments of the melody, and add to their enjoyment of playing it.
-- Glen Shannon
No. of Recorder Parts: 4
Difficulty: Moderate
Occasion: Any
Libraries: New Music for Recorder
Date Added: 12/16/2020
Style: Social/Casual, Concert