Composition - - American Recorder Society
Suite for Three Recorders, III - Slow Tango
By Jeannette Bertles April 28, 2010
Short, sweet, kind of modern...
-- Jeannette Bertles
The Suite for Three Recorders includes four movements, all published in the ARS New Music Library:
I - Count Me In
II - Wistful Thinking
III - Slow Tango
IV - March
The short Tango movement from the Suite for Three Recorders conjures up Old Buenos Aires, with lots of harmonic twists but the same addictive tango rhythms. There are some accidentals and some slow triplet figures, all of which add to the dramatic Tango feel. At just two pages, this one is an easy read but can also be a fun challenge to really bring out the passion. The composer has added lots of accents and breath marks to guide you in shaping the performance.
-- Glen Shannon
No. of Recorder Parts: 3
Difficulty: Moderate
Occasion: Any
Libraries: New Music for Recorder
Date Added: 03/03/2020
Style: Tonal/Melodic