Composition - - American Recorder Society
Suite for Three Recorders, I - Count Me In
By Jeannette Bertles January 28, 201
Short, sweet, kind of modern...
-- Jeannette Bertles
The Suite for Three Recorders includes four movements, all published in the ARS New Music Library:
I - Count Me In
II - Wistful Thinking
III - Slow Tango
IV - March
A new Suite for AAT trio by Jeannette Bertles, composer of the Members’ Library Edition #64, “Far and Away”. The first movement, “Count Me In…” is a very apt title due to the frequently changing meters (3/8, 4/8, 5/8, 6/8, 7/8, even 8/8), occasionally with 2 against 3. It’s very playful, with lots of accidentals to keep your fingers in shape. The rhythmic complexities, accent marks, breath marks and unexpected time signatures warrant several readings to really get familiar and work up to a decent tempo, but after that it’s just pure recorder fun!
-- Glen Shannon
No. of Recorder Parts: 3
Difficulty: Moderate
Occasion: Any
Libraries: New Music for Recorder
Date Added: 03/03/2020
Style: Tonal/Melodic