Composition - - American Recorder Society
O Canada Quartet
By Anthony St. Pierre November 2009
This sonata allegro movement in the style of Haydn is based on Canada's national anthem, O Canada, which was composed by Calixa Lavallée in 1880. The present movement is the first of four based on French Canadian tunes that St. Pierre composed for string quartet. However it received a recorder quartet test run in F major before adaptation for strings in G. In terms of technique, it lies somewhere between the "intermediate" and "challenging" levels.

Performers are Anne Massicotte(S);  Tatsuki Shimoda(A);  Janos Ungvary(T); Anthony St. Pierre (B).  Duration: 7:00

The complete string quartet (4 mvts) may be heard on YouTube via the link provided.
-- Anthony St. Pierre
A clever and very approachable short fantasy on the Canadian national anthem. There is a high C in the Soprano but other than that, the technical difficulties are few. This piece remains true to the Haydn model it emulates; it is easy to imagine that it could be a long-lost quartet movement recently discovered behind the organ pipes during a renovation at Esterhazy.
-- Glen Shannon
No. of Recorder Parts: 4
Difficulty: Moderate
Occasion: Patrotic
Libraries: New Music for Recorder
Date Added: 05/18/2019
Style: Concert, Fast/Up-tempo, Tonal/Melodic, Variations/Fantasies/Adaptations, Neo-Renaissance/Baroque/Classical