Composition - - American Recorder Society
Reverie - PtRM 2012
By Mark W. F. Fischer 1990's
Arranged By David W. Fischer 2011
This piece was composed by my son Mark sometime in the 1990s. It was conceived originally as an untitled piano piece; it was not written out, but was something he simply enjoyed playing whenever he sat down at a piano.

The piece acquired its current form when I re-imagined the piece for recorder ensemble and requested it be written down. From that version, I adapted the piece to suit a recorder quartet, and gave it the present title.

A steady tempo is required throughout most of the piece, as well as a steady breath pressure. This is a good exercise in tuning, especially for some of the more  unusual chords. For example, the “chords” in measure 7 and 8 are DEFG followed by ABCD —essentially expanded tone clusters. Play them with confidence! (text continued in download)
-- David W. Fischer
No. of Recorder Parts: 4
Difficulty: Easy
Occasion: Any
Libraries: Play the Recorder Month Archive
Date Added: 01/01/2012
Style: Laid-back/Slow, Tonal/Melodic, Neo-Renaissance/Baroque/Classical