Composition - - American Recorder Society
Highland Concerto
By John Franek January 2017
S A T B greatB plus strings and harpsichord
The Highland Concerto is a neo-baroque concerto grosso commissioned by the Highland Park Recorder Society for their "Hits and Highlights of 7 Centuries" concert, which celebrated the group's 30th anniversary. The piece was premiered on the 18th of March, 2017 in the United Methodist Church of New Brunswick, New Jersey.

Detailed throughout the progression of the piece is a dialogue between the harmonic worlds of the Baroque and Modern eras. These two worlds eventually form a cohesive whole in the final movement, finally resolving the intrinsic search for identity which follows the piece. The fourth movement also contains an extended harpsichord solo-cadenza, directly inspired by the iconic harpsichord solo in the first movement of Bach's Brandenburg Concerto No. 5.  
--John Franek
No. of Recorder Parts: 5
Difficulty: Challenging
Occasion: Any
Libraries: New Music for Recorder
Date Added: 09/10/2017
Style: Tonal/Melodic, Neo-Renaissance/Baroque/Classical