Event Registration - American Recorder Society

FREE Online Recorder Class for Beginners with Glen Shannon (soprano/tenor recorder)
1/16/2022 - 1/26/2022

ARS introduces our next Free Online Beginners' Course! If you have never played recorder before, or if it has been eons since you have played, this is the course for you! Build a solid foundation for learning through the American Recorder Society’s 4-part beginners’ course for soprano (or tenor) recorder starting on January 16, 2022. Recorder player, composer, conductor and teacher Glen Shannon will cover basics such as hand and finger position, tonguing, and tone, and instill good habits for continuing to learn on your own or with a teacher. All ages are welcome, but children should be joined by an adult during the classes.

This course will use the following method book which provides excellent methodical exercises to learn fingerings, while providing simple tunes to satisfy the soul! The Sweet Pipes Recorder Book: A method for adults and older beginners by Gerald Burakoff and William E. Hettrick. Soprano, Book One. SP02313.  Additionally, the course repertoire will be supplemented with simple folk and early music tunes.

Dates: (note different times on Sundays and Wednesdays)
Sunday, January 16, 11 a.m. PST (12 p.m. MST, 1 p.m. CST, 2 p.m. EST)
Wednesday, January 19, 4:30 p.m. PST (5:30 p.m. MST, 6:30 p.m. CST, 7:30 p.m. EST)
Sunday, January 23, 11 a.m. PST (12 p.m. MST, 1 p.m. CST, 2 p.m. EST)
Wednesday, January 26, 4:30 p.m. PST (5:30 p.m. MST, 6:30 p.m. CST, 7:30 p.m. EST)
 
For this course, you will need the Sweet Pipes Recorder Book and a soprano (or tenor) recorder. Consider purchasing these from one of our business partners, and please allow ample time for mail delivery! If you have purchased the Sweet Pipes Recorder book online but are concerned that you may not receive it in time for your first class on Jan. 16, we can provide you with a "temporary" copy for download. Instructions will be in your emailed registration confirmation notice.


Sweet Pipes Recorder Book 
https://www.vonhuene.com/p-3684-burakoff-gerald-hettrick-sweet-pipes-recorder-book-book-1-adults-and-older-beginners.aspx
https://www.honeysucklemusic.com/showf.php?item=5288
 
Do you need to purchase an instrument? You cannot go wrong with a good plastic recorder—they can actually sound better than a poor wooden one! Yamaha and Aulos make very good plastic sopranos. For tenors: Yamaha provides an exceptional tone, while Aulos is lighter-weight with a smaller reach. Consider purchasing an instrument from one of our business partners:

Honeysuckle Music: (651) 644-8545 
Von Huene Workshop (The Early Music Shop of New England): (617) 277-8690
Lazar’s Early Music: (678) 465-9114 / (866) 511-2981

Yamaha “Rottenburgh” and Aulos “Haka”plastic sopranos:
http://www.honeysucklemusic.com/show3.php?cat=Soprano
https://www.vonhuene.com/p-114-yamaha-rottenburgh-plastic-soprano.aspx
https://www.vonhuene.com/p-125-aulos-plastic-haka-soprano.aspx
https://lazarsearlymusic.com/collections/beginners-collection?constraint=soprano

Yamaha and Aulos plastic tenors:
http://www.honeysucklemusic.com/show3.php?cat=Tenor
https://www.vonhuene.com/p-116-yamaha-rottenburgh-plastic-tenor.aspx
https://lazarsearlymusic.com/collections/beginners-collection/products/yamaha-abs-resin-recorder-tenor?variant=38071881367749


 
Location: Zoom online platform - a sign-in link will be sent to registrants



The attendee limit has been reached for this event.