American Recorder Society - Event Information

Event Name:Recorder Mass Appeal "Make Music New York"
Description:Recorder Mass Appeal As Part of "Make Music New York" 

Noted recorder performer and conductor, Deborah Booth, will lead a recorder playing session at Straus Park as part of the Make Music NY Festival this June 21, 2017.

The 2016 recorder celebration included 47 players!!! 

All recorder players (non-beginners) are welcome.  Performers may bring all sizes of recorders (sopranino through contrabass) or they may concentrate on one instrument if they wish.  The repertoire will include a selection of pieces from the Renaissance, Baroque, and contemporary eras.

You must register to participate.  The scores will be sent to each participant after registering by replying to this e mail message.  This year there will be a small music charge of $8.  Please send a check to Deborah Booth, 884 West End Avenue, #125, NY, NY  10025.  The earlier your registration is received the sooner you will have access to the music. We hope to hear from many of you!
Event Date:06-21-17
Event Time:7pm
Location:Straus Park in NYC
Broadway and 106 Street
New York, NY

click here for Google Maps
click here for Mapquest
Contact Person:Deborah Booth
Details:Make Music New York is a live, free musical celebration across the city that takes place each June 21, the longest day of the year. On that day, hundreds of public spaces throughout the five boroughs become impromptu stages for over 1,000 free concerts.  This will be the fifth time for recorder players to take part in this festival and we hope to help raise the profile and increase awareness of our wonderful instrument.

Please bring music stands with clips for outdoor playing.  If you have a small folding stool or chair that would be great.  Some benches are available for those who come a bit early but the seating will be a bit limited. 

For musical questions please send an e mail to Deborah Booth at :

Email Reminder: click here to setup an email reminder for this event

return to American Recorder Society